Lindsay Lohan Has Her OWN Version of Sobriety

I’ve blogged about it before but “Lindsay”, the docu-series on OWN, is so shocking that I just can’t help blogging about it again.  Just when I think it can’t get any worse, I see footage of Lindsay filming herself crying as she stares silently into the camera.  It’s weird and a bit troubling, but also totally compelling.  It is a trainwreck that I just can’t stop watching.  And since I have been working in the field of substance abuse treatment for the past four years, I see a lot of familiar issues when I watch Lindsay.

Through my work, I have seen firsthand how difficult it is to get and stay sober.  More often than not, relapse happens and people need multiple attempts at sobriety before it sticks.  It’s even more difficult when you’re a celebrity, for a couple of reasons.  First of all, celebrities often get paid for making appearances at nightclubs where alcohol is, of course, readily available.  Being in highly triggering situations clearly puts one’s sobriety at risk.  In early recovery, it’s best to avoid tempting situations but celebrities aren’t always able to do that because their livelihood can at times depend on being at parties and such.  Additionally, celebrities are surrounded by people who are paid to essentially stroke their egos and tell them what they want to hear.  They are treated as if they are special and unique, so it makes sense that they in turn think the rules don’t apply to them.   Often, their friends and family have a financial stake at hand and are not willing to risk that by telling them the truth or setting necessary boundaries or limits.  So I have sympathy and respect for Lindsay and what she is trying to do.  Especially when so many are watching her and expecting her to fail.

With all that being said, I am still appalled at Lindsay’s complete lack of insight.  Her behavior is that of somebody who is in total denial about the challenges of recovery, despite her six stints in rehab.  It’s almost painful to watch (but also really enjoyable at the same time!  Yes, I know I’m going to hell).  But, I never waste an opportunity to learn something from reality television.  So here are some ”dos” and “don’ts” of recovery that we can all learn from watching Linsday:

  1. Don’t—play the game “Dare” with a bunch of random Russians.  After a night of “sober” clubbing, Linsday apparently thought it was a good idea to invite a crew of young Ruskies back to her place to take turns piercing each other’s ears with knives.  Because that’s a good sober activity.  If you ever feel the strong urge to take a swig of vodka, it’s going to be when a drunk Russian is lunging at one of your appendages with a butcher knife.
  2. Don’t—videotape yourself just sitting around your apartment crying.  It’s weird and people will assume that you are, in fact, on drugs.
  3. Do—be humble.   In the most recent episode of the show, Lindsay bragged about how she could have a ”full novel” of all the shoots she has helped style.  Keep in mind, this comment was made after she had help up the Elle Indonesia shoot on multiple occasions, resulting in the clothes for the shoot actually needing to be returned.  Also keep in mind, that Lindsay wears this.  Humility is a huge part of recovery because it’s way too easy to slip back into old patterns, especially when you are cocky about it.
  4. Do—get the hell away from Dina Lohan.  The woman is a hot mess.  Writing an autobiography that basically capitalizes on your daughter’s struggles is classless at best. (Dina was planning to title her memoir “Parent Trapped” just to make sure it was crystal clear that she is Lindsay’s mom.)  Dressing up in an adult Snow White costume to attend the Halloween party your daughter is hosting at a night club is just creepy.  Supporting your daughter is one thing….  I fondly remember my mom attending my childhood cheerleading competitions to watch me in all of my pom-pom glory.   But wanting to be her best friend is just crazy.  Had my mother actually dressed up in a matching uniform and learned the routines, I would probably be an alcoholic now too.

Leave a comment